Governance & Board of Directors

The Blackmores Group Board and management are dedicated to the highest standards of corporate behaviour and accountability throughout all levels of the organisation.

The Blackmores Group corporate governance practices have been developed by the Board using the framework of the ASX Corporate Governance Council’s Corporate Governance Principles and Recommendations (3rd ed.). You can view our governance policies below:

Board of Directors


Brent W Wallace BComm (Marketing), FAICD


Mr Wallace joined the Board in October 2005. He is a co-founder and Chairman of Galileo Kaleidoscope (Galkal), an Asia-Pacific company known for its strategic marketing, brand and consumer insight solutions that drives growth for clients.

Mr Wallace has held senior positions in London and Sydney advertising agencies and until 1996 was Managing Director of Ogilvy & Mather in Australia. Mr Wallace has more than 30 years of international experience in marketing, advertising and research insights across a wide variety of organisations and consumer categories.

Mr Wallace is a former Board Director (2005-2017) and was Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee from 2015 until being appointed Chairman of the Board in October 2018. He has also been a Governor of the World Wide Fund for Nature, the global environmental group, since 1993, and has held board positions on ASX-listed and unlisted technology companies in online procurement, education and information.



David Ansell BA (Communication), GAICD

Non-Executive Director

Mr Ansell joined the Board in October 2013 and is a member of the People and Remuneration Committee. He has enjoyed a highly successful career in consumer-facing organisations in Australia, Asia and the United States. He played a pivotal role in the start-up years of Foxtel, was CEO of advertising agency Saatchi & Saatchi, Managing Director of Mars Incorporated in Australia, and President of a global Mars unit in the United States.

Mr Ansell has a strong operating and supply chain skill set and a deep understanding of customer strategy. He is also Managing Director and Chairman of Jacobs Douwe Egberts ANZ, Australasia’s largest pureplay coffee company, where he recently led a major acquisition and integration project. Mr Ansell is also a board member of the peak body of cycling in this country, Cycling Australia.


John Armstrong

John Armstrong BBus, MBA, MAICD

Non-Executive Director

Mr Armstrong joined the Board in May 2015 and became Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee in October 2018. Mr Armstrong has more than 30 years’ experience in various financial and commercial management roles. His most recent executive role was at SEEK Limited, an ASX 50 listed leading recruitment and education provider, where he was Chief Financial Officer for over 12 years.

Mr Armstrong’s focus was on SEEK’s Asian operations and investments, mergers & acquisitions, including directorships of SEEK’s business in China, Zhaopin Ltd (a US listed company), and SEEK Asia, which operates across South East Asia. Prior to SEEK, he held management roles at Carlton & United Breweries and commenced his career at Ernst & Young.

Mr Armstrong is a Non-Executive Director of Lovita Holdings Ltd (since September 2018), Mr Armstrong has previous ASX listed experience as a Non-Executive Director with Melbourne IT and iProperty Group.



Marcus C Blackmore AM ND, MAICD, D Univ, D Litt

Executive Director

Mr Blackmore has served on the Board since October 1973. He holds an Honorary Doctorate from Southern Cross University for distinguished leadership in complementary medicines in Australia and an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from Western Sydney University for his distinguished services to business, charity and the broader community.

Mr Blackmore is an honorary trustee of the Committee for the Economic Development of Australia (CEDA), an Alumnus of Harvard Business School, and an Honorary Fellow of the Heart Research Institute.

He previously held the position of Chairman up to 28 February 2017.



Christine Holman MBA, GAICD

Non-Executive Director

Ms Holman brings more than 20 years of extensive commercial and Board experience across a variety of areas including mergers and acquisitions, finance, sales, technology, digital transformations and marketing. She currently serves on the Board of ASX company CSR Ltd and on the Board of a Federal Government Business Enterprise, the Moorebank Intermodal Company. She was previously on the Board of WiseTech Global Ltd.

Ms Holman's previous roles include the CFO and Commercial Director at Telstra Broadcast Services. She also worked for more than a decade in private investment management, assisting management and Boards of investee companies on strategy, corporate development and mergers and acquisitions. Ms Holman holds a Master’s in Business Administration and a Post Graduate Diploma in Management from Macquarie University and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors’ Company Directors Course.